h1

Best Actor: Mickey Rourke

01.26.09

Mickey Rourke deserves all of the Best Actor awards out there.  He’s won most of them so far, too, which half-surprises me: usually the movies/filmmakers that I pull for end up getting beat out by Clint Eastwood and/or Paul Haggis.

Rourke lost the SAG Award to Sean Penn for his performance in “Milk.”  I enjoyed the film and thought that Penn was superb; however, it really didn’t move me like I’d hoped it would.  That being said, I love that it’s getting so much attention.  The more people who see it, the more who will hopefully open their eyes to the reality of the discrimination that is truly unconscionable in 21st century America – Land of the Free.

I digress.

Penn should not have won the award.  A nomination is award enough.  Let me tell you why.

Rourke created Randy “The Ram” Robinson.  There were no photos to examine.  No film footage to study.  No first-hand accounts of friends to describe how The Ram really was.  He is a fictional character on a page that Rourke brought to stunningly believable – and tragic – life.

Penn did a remarkable job with the character of Harvey Milk, but at the end of the day, it’s more of an impersonation than anything else.  You can say “he talked just like Harvey!” or “he completely nailed the way Harvey walked.”  But no matter what Penn did well, it’s always in relation to what the real Harvey Milk did and how he did it.

Also, Penn already has the Golden Statue on his mantelpiece.  Granted, he’s probably more deserving of the award this year than for the total abomination that was “Mystic River,” but that’s not really an argument worth arguing.

While Penn stole the SAG Award from the deserving Rourke, I am not upset.  Penn can have SAG.

The Ram’s taking home The Oscar.

4 comments

  1. Do you think if Rourke wins, Penn will lose his shit and start screaming “Is that My OSCAR IN THEEEREE, Is that my Oscar in thereee!!!” Alas Mystic River?


  2. HA! As much as I would like that, I doubt it.

    No, he’ll probably go interview all other fellow Oscar losers who think they should’ve won like Leonardo DiCaprio or Kate Winslet every year, and then he’ll go off to Cuba to write a piece about it for the New Yorker.

    Also, when can we give Kate the Susan Lucci of the Oscars Award? Also known as the Randy Newman Award. If she loses this year, I say we just call it the Winslet.


  3. Did you ever see her mock that on Extras? Winslett.


  4. I never did see the episode, no. The only one I caught was one where Ricky Gervais goes to open a can of pop in front of this chick he wants to ask out, only the can explodes and he has to chug it to keep it from spraying all over the place. It doesn’t sound all that funny but I was crying I was laughing so hard.



Comments are closed.

