h1

Faith-Based and Government? Of course!

02.05.09

I lied in my previous post.  I had to make a quick remark on this article.

President Obama will be revamping President Bush’s Office of Faith-Based Initiatives.  I still am having trouble figuring out just why our federal government needs any such office, no matter how revamped it gets.

President Obama said that the office:

“[will not] favor one religious group over another — or even religious groups over secular groups. It will simply be to work on behalf of those organizations that want to work on behalf of our communities, and to do so without blurring the line that our founders wisely drew between church and state.”

So, basically it’s an office that helps provide social services to those in need, such as international HIV/AIDS efforts, job training to low-income workers, and helping released convicts get back into society.  That I can get behind.

And now that Obama is making sure that people aren’t discriminated against based on their religious background during hiring, it seems that the only thing faith-based about the office is the name.

Well done.  Another Bush blunder effectively reversed.

4 comments

  1. Might I suggest using the “post link” function on Facebook for all your blogs for the time being? That way, when you post a new entry, people on FB can be alerted to it and it might draw traffic to the site.

    My $.02


  2. You know what, that’s a great idea. I had been putting the link in my status updates but that really got cumbersome and a bit heavy on the self-promotion for my taste. But, posting a link is different. I might just be trying that in the very near future.

    Like, right now.


  3. I haven’t heard about this yet… not all the comments that tell you to better market yourself/your writings on Facebook, but on the “revamping” of the faith-based initiatives. It sounds good – I’m glad he’s doing it.

    I really, really think church and state should be separate, especially for reasons of discrimination. But of course, religion, no matter how separate we like to think it is from the State, has been ingrained in it since its inception. Where did I read that? I forget. I have no facts, just heresy. And probably off the web somewhere. Ha!


  4. You’re right. It is a part of the lives of the founding fathers but they purposefully kept it out of government. I don’t see how just because we have “Under God” and “So help me God” in some oaths that it immediately means that church and state are intricately linked. It’s simply a fear tactic that played on people’s religious views to try to keep them honest when on the stand. It’s all the most obvious that we don’t change the oath based on people’s differing views; Jews don’t substitute the word “Yahweh,” and Muslims don’t say “Allah.” Honestly, I don’t know what they say in those cases. That would be interesting to find out. I imagine it could be interchangeable, or at least, it should to avoid discrimination. Whether or not that happens remains to be seen.



Comments are closed.

