h1

Global Warming!? No way! It’s FREEZING!

03.11.09

La Crosse, WI 3-10-09

Living in Los Angeles for the past four (!?) years has changed me.  I can no longer handle the cold weather anymore.  And it’s not like I haven’t been back to visit.  Despite exceedingly high prices for flights, I’ve managed to make it back every winter around the holidays and even a couple times during the summer.

Still, it couldn’t prepare me for the frigid blast that is Old Man Winter, even in the seemingly springtime month of March.

It was a brisk 11 degrees in La Crosse, WI last night and there was I wearing a hoodie.  No hat.  No gloves.  No long underwear.  No wonder I have a stuffy nose today.  I guess I really lived up to my LA stereotype of not having any concept of just how cold it gets in certain parts of the country.  I just feel embarrassed that it happened to me since I spent way more of my life in the cold than not.  I should have known better.

I suppose it’s a case of the brain forgetting unpleasant memories.  We unconciously tend to remember the good rather than the bad.  Either that or I’m just repressing the horrific trauma of spending most of my pre-20s life consistently chilled to the bone.  I wonder what Freud would say about that.

Actually, no, I don’t.

I will say one thing for certain: I do NOT miss real winter.  Not even a little.  There’s some nostalgic factor to seeing snow in March and not feeling the tips of my toes or fingers.  But you get over it very quickly.

Sub-tropical weather for life!

2 comments

  1. I’m with ya, brother!


  2. Totally man. Tokyo winters are super mild, and I puss out everytime it’s windy.



Comments are closed.

