h1

Don’t Free Polanski

09.30.09

My previous post would’ve been better had I called it a review of the documentary “Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired.”  It was manipulative and very convincing in how it kept me feeling sorry for Polanski because of all of his previous tragedies all the way through how the Judge was portrayed as not giving him a fair shake.

After taking more time to reflect on the scenario, I find myself less sympathetic to Polanski than I was immediately after viewing the film.  When it comes down to straight facts, Polanski fled the country to avoid sentencing for a crime to which he pled guilty.  His plea bargain took charges that could’ve sent him to prison for many, many years and gave him the prospect of probation, perhaps 90 days of total incarceration.  Merely a slap on the wrist given his egregious actions.

People can’t just run away when they risk punishment.  Regardless of how the judge may or may not have been acting, Polanski was a coward.  He acted like the spoiled, entitled celebrity that he thought himself to be.  He thought that his own idea of what would be a fair punishment was more valid that that of an esteemed court and decided to go on the lam.

And now people support him.

He hasn’t done his time.  He has lived a fine life in France, received the highest honors in his profession, married and has a family, and continues his artistic pursuits without persecution.  That’s not punishment.  That’s not paying his debt to society.  That’s not atoning for his crimes against that 13-year-old little girl.

Polanski is a fugitive at large and should be treated as such.

2 comments

  1. I love that Woody Allen of all people is supporting him.


    • I know. I guess no one can understand Polanski’s attraction to young girls and inappropriate relationships better than Woody. Not exactly who I’d want in my corner, however.



Comments are closed.

