h1

Mormons Support Gays

11.12.09

This really is incredible news: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has backed a Salt Lake City law that bans discrimination in housing and employment on the basis of sexual orientation.

This is the very same church that poured millions of dollars into a political campaign to deny rights to homosexuals less than a year ago.

This news displays a rather huge step forward for an organization that has quite the history of prejudice and discrimination.  Until 1978, black Mormons were not allowed to become priests.  And given the LDS’s strict stance on homosexuals – “[g]ays are welcome in church, but must remain celibate to retain church callings and full membership” – and marriage, it really is shocking to see it publicly support a law that offers them protections.

Of course, I applaud this support.  How could I not?  The fact that conservative Salt Lake City has a more progressive law on fighting discrimination in the workplace and in housing than over half the states in the Union is remarkable.  It’s a wonderful step forward and one that I hope signals a shift away from the hateful rhetoric aimed at homosexuals.  No one should ever be fired from their job or denied a lease for an apartment because of their sexual orientation.

Well done, Salt Lake City, for writing this bill.  And, bravo to the LDS for throwing its support behind it, effectively guaranteeing its passage into law.  Way to use your power for good this time.

You’ve set a strong example.

2 comments

  1. I don’t know about greater Utah, but I keep hearing that Salt Lake City is a pretty hip place.


    • I’ve been to Utah – I feel like it was a suburb of SLC, but for the life of me, I can’t remember. It wasn’t bad. Perhaps the city itself is more hip than the area I was in.



Comments are closed.

