h1

This Political Theater Lost Me in the 2nd Act

03.12.10

I almost didn’t comment on my silence here on Agree to Disagree.  I thought maybe I should let my silence speak for itself.  But, what’s a blog when there’s nothing being said?

I don’t consider myself jaded.  I just feel rather numb by all the major items in politics right now.  Perhaps I’ve burned myself out.  If this were a movie, I’d say that the screenwriter completely failed at finding the second act climax, continuing to add plot twist after plot twist after plot twist in hopes of keeping us on the edge of our seats but in reality boring us to death while waiting for that much-desired release.

Watching drama unfold, you need moments of levity.  They call these “comic relief.”  Not necessarily needing to be funny, these are breaks in the action where the audience gets to catch their breath after the exhausting and exhilarating chase scene or tense interrogation or riveting race against time while the bad guys close in and there’s just no way possible that our hero… okay, you get the picture.  In our current drama that we call American politics, we haven’t had many of these moments, nor many resolutions.  Stories are best told with a beginning, a middle, and an end.  And when the middle drags on to long, you lose your audience.

That has officially happened to me.  I’m over it.  Don’t misunderstand me: I still feel very passionately about much of what’s happening right now.  I just don’t have the interest in dissecting every little development along the way.  At this point in the murder mystery, I just want to know who the killer is; I’m willing to fast forward to the end just to get it over with faster. (Oh, I knew it was the boyfriend all the along.)

There will always be another anti-gay politician who gets caught being gay.  Or another idiot claiming that torture is necessary to keep America safe.  Sarah Palin will continue being uneducated and possess a scary sense of self-righteousness and religious certainty that she’s supposed to be doing what she’s doing right now.  Rush and Beck will be assholes.

Okay — I guess I do have some vitriol after all.  I just haven’t felt the desire to comment on the latest scandal with Massa, the latest takedown of Thiessen by Jon Stewart, or the latest vulgarities by Liz Cheney.  It’s politics as usual.  I’ve written about it a million times before, it seems.

So until something changes.  Until something actually HAPPENS.  Like, for instance, health care passes.  (I called my Representative today and told her that she had my support.  It felt good actually taking part in politics aside from just writing about it on this blog.)  I have a feeling I might be quieter than I have in the past.

Of course, I say this now.  Just wait until someone does something that really gets under my skin and we’ll see how quiet I remain.  Somehow I don’t think that’s too far off.

3 comments

  1. “I’m over it.” – You’re not alone.

    There’s a reason for the apathy that plagues our country. And just when we get to a point where people start getting active and involved, it feels like the politicians lose sight of what they are there for and the rug gets pulled out from underneath us. It comes to a “why bother” sentiment that in my opinion is far more dangerous than any of the radical extremists can be. Everyone knows the people on the fringes are idiots … on both sides … but when the level headed rational constituents no longer keep things in check, bad things can happen.

    I’m guiltier than most because of my pure disdain for politics. At least you try to educate those around you and put your voice out there. I pray that someday there will be a politician that I truly want to vote FOR rather than a candidate that I am voting AGAINST. And I would love to see constituents truly holding their elected representatives accountable — to do the job that they were put in office to do. But it seems like such an insurmountable task, when doing your job doesn’t usually get you re-elected. Playing the political game does.

    I don’t blame you for your silence. And I am confident that your true passion for the things that you believe in won’t keep you silent for long. Just know that you aren’t alone in your thoughts or sentiments.


    • It takes a lot of stamina to keep up with this stuff. I had it for a while, but it’s just all so negative. There’s nothing positive in politics, except perhaps the outcome — although, that has only happened for me recently with the 2006 midterm election results and, of course, Obama being elected. But, the grind is just so draining and mean-spirited. I found myself becoming really agitated and disgruntled simply from spending too much time reading the news. There are many ugly, ugly people in the political world and especially in the blogosphere. Hateful people, really. I won’t be silent for long with this, but I can see why people just choose to ignore politics in general. It’s just all so ugly.


  2. […] https://masonryan.wordpress.com Tagged with: AT COST • atcost.com • Daily Deals • Drama • group buying • Groupon • Health Care • Jon Stewart • Living Social • Movies • Politics • Politics of the United States • Sarah Palin  If you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it! […]



Comments are closed.

