h1

A Venice Beach Thanksgiving

11.24.10

Sunset at Venice BeachSince it’s Thanksgiving week, one of the best holidays around, where there’s no pressure to do anything other than eat a ton of food, nap, watch football, nap, watch movies, eat then nap, and hang out with friends and family, I figured it would be good to offer up some thanks of my own.

I’ll say it’s a given that I’m beyond thankful for my love, my family, my friends, my health, and my job.  Words in this blog could never capture just how lost I’d be without you all in my life.

So here are my thanks to people that I don’t know would ever know from our interactions that I’m grateful for them and what they do:

  • Friendly People at Lunch. I go to La Salsa about once every 10 days, 2 weeks or so, when I get so tired of my turkey sandwiches that I have to mix it up with a burrito (sans beans, of course).  It’s almost the same people working, too, so we recognize each other and say hello.  When I leave, I always make a point of saying goodbye — they always wave back and thank me for coming in with genuine smiles on their faces.  It’s just a simple gesture of kindness and warmth that, when I went there yesterday, made my day.  I’m not sure that I’ll go back to tell them to their faces that I appreciate them, so hopefully that by my recognizing them to the universe here in this blog, it will get back to them by way of karma.

  • The Office Building Staff. I have to say, it’s odd that this one lady cleans the men’s bathroom in the middle of the day and just knocks quickly and then immediately opens the door to come inside regardless of whether or not any men are in there.  But she truly means nothing by it: she’s just doing her job and she’s quick to walk out if she sees that there’s anyone inside.  Despite the fact that despite the bathroom is on the third floor of a nice office building in Brentwood, men still can’t keep those stalls clean — seriously, it’s rather pathetic to see how people just become total animals in public restrooms, even when it’s their workplace.  So, I’m thankful that woman keeps that space tolerable.

    And another thanks: the lady who runs the parking lot ticket booth on the way out of the lot.  She’s there when I get in at 8:30am and she’s still there when I leave at 6:00pm — I think she stays until 7, every night.  She’s always friendly, always quick to say “goodnight” no matter how bored she must be in that little booth all by herself or how long she’s been on her feet.


  • My Blog Readers. It might be cliche for me to thank my readers, but it’s necessary because I truly am thankful to each and everyone one of you who reads the outpourings of my brain that happen to coalesce into this blog.  Some of you are silent readers while others comment frequently on the posts they feel most passionate about and others share my posts with their own group of friends and followers.  To each and every single one of you: my humble thanks for caring enough about what I have to say to make me part of your day.  You make this all worthwhile.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

5 comments

  1. Nice blog.

    I hope that your thanks and appreciation to people will get back to them via karma, but I don’t see any harm in telling the people at La Salsa that you really appreciate their service.

    Enjoy your holiday too!


    • You’re right. No harm at all. I was just being honest about the likelihood of me doing it. But, maybe I should just stop by later today since they are just downstairs…


  2. You should for sure thank them! Who knows what effect it might have in their lives?

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too, Ryan. I’m thankful that you take the time to speak your mind. In my view, simply putting an opinion out there is noteworthy. When that opinion is logically sound, well-reasoned and well-researched it is truly a blessing in these times of uncertainty.


    • You know what: I will go thank them. You’ve both convinced me to overcome my shyness in this matter and just say some thanks.

      And, again, thanks for the kind words, James. Hope you have a great holiday.


  3. I totally stopped by La Salsa on my way out of work on Wednesday just to say Happy Thanksgiving and they were super cool — I even got a coupon for a free taco for it! Felt great (with or without the coupon).



Comments are closed.

